The New Jersey Department of Transportation (NJDOT) was formed in 1966 as the first State DOT. Starting in 1967 with the Erie Lackawanna and the Central RR of New Jersey, the NJ Department of Transportation assumed the operation of commuter trains in New Jersey ran by the Erie Lackawanna, Central RR of NJ, Penn Central, and the Pennsylvania-Reading Seashore Lines.. NJDOT's first action was to purchase new locomotives for its operations. On the Erie Lackawanna lines, new GE U34CH locomotives with Head-End Power were ordered. These locomotives were delivered between 1970 and 1973 and were used solely with new Pullman-Standard Commuter Cars (Comet I Cars). The CNJ lines received new Steam-Generator Equipped GP40P locomotives from EMD, which were leased from the Chesapeake & Ohio. Eventually, NJDOT purchased these locomotives. In the mid to late 1970s, new "Jersey Arrow" cars arrived from General Electric (Arrow IIIs) for the Northeast Corridor and North Jersey Coast Line. On April 1, 1976, the Consolidated Rail Corporation, or ConRail, was created by the government merging the financially troubled Penn Central, Erie Lackawanna, Central RR of New Jersey, Lehigh Valley, Lehigh & Hudson River, Reading, and Pennsylvania-Reading Seashore Lines; and CR operated Commuter Railroad service under contract from NJDOT. On January 1, 1980, the New Jersey Transit Corporation was formed as the "operating arm" of the NJDOT. Conrail continued to operate Commuter rail service under contract from NJT until January 1, 1983 when New Jersey Transit Rail Operations assumed operation of all commuter rail service in New Jersey.